Shutter Special: My Wonder Woman (Part 1)

Even before Gal Gadot made headlines as the new superheroine, there was a woman who has been playing the role most of her life. She may not have the superpowers, but her strength is immeasurable. She is Alice. She is my Wonder Woman, and she is my mother.

Today, June 14, is her special day. It is her Birthday. I dedicate this shutter special to her. It is the least I can do after all the sacrifices that she has made all those years.

20170614_150323_HDR-01-01-01.jpeg

Being an only child, I am fortunate that I have all her attention growing up. She has always been there. I was her full-time job even though she graduated with a degree in accountancy. I asked her before on why she did not get a job and she replied that I was her priority. No one would have looked after me if she had worked. Taking care of me was more important to her which I am very grateful for.

20170614_145642_HDR-01

I always say that she is not a typical mother. She doesn’t wear dresses mothers normally wear. She is more comfortable in her jeans and knee-length shorts. During my grade school graduation, she was the only parent who sported pants and a jacket-type shirt, but it was cool. She looked more like of my sister than my mother.

She wears colorful shirts, there was even a time that she has a specific color for each day, but red is her ultimate favorite. She is also fond of shoes and sandals. Now that she is very active on facebook, her collection of clothes and shoes continues to grow because she doesn’t like to post a photo wearing similar outfits. She is conscious that others may “bash” her for her outfits even if it is very unlikely to happen.

20170614_145249_HDR-01-01.jpeg

At home, she is very organized. She had a small store and she made it sure that everything is properly arranged. She has this theory that a beautiful store attracts customers.

She also loves music and she like her music loud, very loud that the entire community hears it. Her taste in music is varied. She has a wide collection of music stuffs such as cassette tapes, cd’s, vcd’s and mp3 files. From hugot tagalog songs to throwback Air Supply hits or from Debbie Gibson’s “Electric Youth” to Dawin’s “Sidekick”, all those were once included in her playlist. And since she loves music, it is a no-brainer that she adores videoke. She can sing all day. She even bought a bluetooth microphone with built-in speaker. She connects it to her phone and play a lyric video from facebook and she is ready to sing it all out.

20170614_145531_HDR-01-01-01-01-01.jpeg

She is really a cool mother. She does things which have intimidated even men. She drives and she drives fast. She is a professional licensed driver. She actually brought and fetched me to school the entire time that I was studying. Back in grade school, she was given a moniker “rider-mama” by some of my classmates because of how fast she drives a motorcycle. She was actually used to driving 80 kilometers on a motorcycle, whenever we visit our hometown almost every week back then.

There was even an incident where she was thought as a male driver. She was driving back to the city, I was her back rider. While on the road we caught up with some men also on a motorcycle. She overtook them, but the guys might have been challenged so they drove faster and passed us. But they did not notice the blind curve and crashed unto the billboard at the side of the road. Luckily it was not a serious crash. She went to them and asked how they were, when she removed her helmet they were in disbelief when they discovered that she was a woman.

20170614_150117_HDR-01

She really has an active lifestyle. Though she has never tried zumba, I think she would love it. She likes to dance when she was younger. She also admires people who are good in dancing. When I was young, she would always convince me to dance whenever there is a chance.

Currently, she enjoys her social life in facebook. Ever since I opened an account for her and taught her to use the app, she has been very active online. She might even be more active than me. But that does not bother me at all as long as she is happy. I just want her to be happy. I am hoping that I am succeeding at making her happy. There are still so many things I want to share about this amazing woman, of how wonderful she is. But I would have to reserve that for my future posts, as I am sure that this is not the last special that I will make for her.

20170614_150554_HDR-01.jpeg

Being a Wonder Woman, she has also faced struggles and fought battles that challenged her character. Those hardships never brought her down but rather made her stronger.

PicsArt_06-02-02.29.13-01

Look forward to Part 2 of this special to know more about her story.
All photos were shot using my LG V20 and enhance using Snapseed mobile app.


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Kim says:

    I just finished watching a special on KJMS where a guy from Australia was looking for her birth mother and now this. What a lovely piece dedicated for your mom. I sincerely enjoyed reading it. Happy Birthday to your wonder woman!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Beautiful words and Happy Birthday to Mama Alice

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Its always nice to read about children being proud of their parents. Happy birthday to your mom!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

