Motorcyclists in Motion: Panning Shots from a Smartphone

Panning, in photography, is one difficult technique, and much more difficult when you are using a smartphone. It is a method of capturing a subject, which is in motion, while following the direction of its movement. It is like shooting a panorama only that your subject is also moving. I personally find it very challenging to even achieve one decent panning shot, nonetheless, I am still excited to share with you some of my successful attempts. In this post, I particularly chose motorcyclists or people riding motorcyles as my subjects because I just find them more visually interesting.

Panning 1Panning 2

Ideally, to achieve a good panning shot, you need to pay attention to your panning speed. You need to match speed of your moving subject. You should pan your phone as fast as your subject as it passes you. In that way, you will be able to capture the subject clearer and sharper while the the rest of the photo is in motion blur.

Panning 3Panning 4

In terms of camera settings, I have read that it is ideal to use lower shutter speed between 1/30 sec and 1/60 sec. However, you can always play with your settings while you take the shots. It is still a matter of trial and error, especially if you have plenty of time and subjects to work on.

Panning 5

Just like any other techniques or styles of photography, Panning can be mastered through patience, dedication and constant practice. Reading tips online is helpful, but you will truly learn the craft if you will actually start shooting. Go out and shoot. Let us all learn together in the process.

Panning 6

All the photos were shot using my LG V20 smartphone and were enhanced using Lightroom mobile editing app.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

 

18 Comments Add yours

  1. You still amazed me by your photo shot. are they yours? Because if yes, you can be a Photographer

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks. Yes they are all mine.. ๐Ÿ˜€

      Like

  2. Great photos! This might be a good technique for me to try when trying to catch good photos of my 8 year old, lol โ€“ sheโ€™s never still, so maybe I just need to learn how to follow her with the camera.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Brandi. Yes, try it. You surely have some fun chasing your kid..

      Like

  3. thedestinydive says:

    Great tips. My mom is a photographer so Iโ€™ll definitely pass this information along to her as Iโ€™m sure she can always use more techniques! And just like Brandi, I could use these techniques myself when chasing my nephews for a photo lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks. Send my regards to your mom.. ๐Ÿ˜€

      Like

  4. This is quite impressive. I can see this as suself in other arenas too.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Dieter says:

    I love photography and your article is super, easy to understand and photos say more than 1000 words, thanks

    Liked by 1 person

  6. lmbadmin1 says:

    Omg those are amazing! I would have never guessed they were taken with a smart phone!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. I appreciate the comment.

      Like

  7. Cheryl says:

    Wow amazing photos and thank you for the helpful tips.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. lifewithmrst says:

    These are phenomenal pictures, you are mega talented

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow.. Thank you so much for the compliment.

      Like

  9. Ana says:

    I love the idea of catching memories in motion. Great job!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

